Help and support
How sharer plans work | Help & Support | O2
We’re making some changes
Our sharer plans will soon be discontinued, which means you’ll no longer be able to share data with other devices, or use someone else’s data.
If you’re currently sharing data with other devices, don’t worry – there’ll be no change to your tariff. The monthly cost will remain the same and you’ll get the same number of minutes, texts and data.
If you currently share someone else’s data, we’ll move you to a tariff that best suits your monthly data usage.
You’ll also keep any discounts that you currently have.
We’ll be in touch to let you know when the change will take place. For more information, please contact us.
How sharer plans work
Sharer plans are Pay Monthly tariffs that allow the data allowance from one device to be shared with another. For example, if you have two O2 Pay Monthly mobiles in your family, and one is on an O2 Refresh tariff with a data allowance of 1GB or more the data can be shared with the second phone. You just need to switch it to a sharer plan tariff once it's out of contract.
Your lead device can share its data allowance with up to nine others devices, either mobiles, tablets or sims. Extra devices can be added to your sharer plan at any time. And you can have more than one lead device too.
All mobiles or tablets using a shared data allowance need to be on one of our Pay Monthly contracts - sharer plans are not available for Pay As You Go or Business devices.
You can track how much of your data allowance each device is using in My O2.
Sharer plan devices can only be bought in an O2 store or by calling 0330 8800 908.
If you already have two or more devices on O2, log into My O2 to see if you can switch to a sharer plan.
The primary O2 account holder can share their data with up to nine devices on eligible secondary sharer tariffs, joined under the primary account.
To set up a sharer plan, you’ll need to be on, or sign up to an O2 Refresh tariff with 1GB data or more for phones, or 3GB data or more for mobile broadband devices, and at least one eligible secondary tariff (with just a text and minutes allowance) to share your data with. If you’re on a 250MB or 500MB tariff, you’ll need to increase your allowance. You can do this in My O2, or by speaking to us in store or on the phone.
To buy a phone or tablets on sharer plans,call us on 0330 8800 908 or visit your nearest O2 store.
Want to switch out a sharer plan and get your own data allowance? Log into My O2, choose the device you want to change and then select to change the tariff. You'll then be able to see all the tariffs you can switch to.
Sim only tariffs on sharer plans
If you'd like a sharer plan, you will need a phone or a tablet with an O2 Refresh tariff to be your lead device. However, if you buy a new device on O2 Refresh, you may be able to make this your lead device and switch your existing sim to a sharer plan. Speak to us in store or over the phone to find out more.
Managing your data
Use My O2 to see how much data you've got - you can also see how much data each device has used.
If you're running low on data, you can add a Bolt On, which gives you a temporary increase in data for the month. Or you might want to upgrade your tariff. Go to My O2 to check out your options.
We'll send you a text when you’ve used 80% of your allowance for that month and another if there’s none left. There will also be a notification in My O2, where you’ll be able to top up more data.
Setting up your sharer plans
Before you are able to share a data allowance across your devices, we'll need to activate sharing. If this wasn't done in store when you bought your device or sim, you can activate it in My O2.
Once logged in you'll see a list of your Pay Monthly account(s), with a link to set up your shared data. Click this and the lead device will be shown its data allowance followed by a list of phones and tablets that you can share the allowance with.
Tick the boxes for devices you wish to share with and - if you want - change the names so you can easily spot which device is which. Then click the 'Start sharing data' button and you're done.
You'll see a message confirming that we're processing the request - it normally takes around 10-15 minutes to activate, but sometimes could take up to 24 hours.