Help and Support

Returning a device with iOS7 or above

Returning a device with iOS7 or above

iOS7 and above iCloud unlocking

If your device runs iOS7 or above your iCloud account needs to be removed before sending to us. The activation lock on the operating system locks your Apple device to your iCloud account. If this continues to remain active when you return it to us then your details will always be associated with it.

Removing your iCloud account from your device is easy:

  1. Sign out of iCloud
  2. Go to Settings > iCloud > Delete Account
  3. Enter your Apple ID password
  4. Then select Turn Off

Or

  1. Turn off Find My iPhone
  2. Go to Settings > iCloud > Turn off Find My iPhone
  3. Enter your Apple ID password

Or

  1. Erase All Content and Settings (Back up your device before doing this)
  2. Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.
  3. Enter your Apple ID password

If You Have Already Sent Back Your Device

If you have already sent back your device then don't worry - you can still sign out of your iCloud account at www.icloud.com

Sign in to your iCloud account at www.icloud.com

Select the device that needs to be removed from the account.

If the device is offline, click 'Remove from Account'

If the device is online, click 'Erase'. When the erase is complete, select Remove from Account.

If you're not sure about any techy terms, check out our jargon buster

Was this information helpful? Yes | No

Thank you for sending your feedback.

Topics from O2 Community

Can't find what you're looking for?

Give us a moment

We're just checking to see if there's an available agent.

Live Chat - Busy

All our agents are currently busy, please try again later.

Live Chat - Offline

The service is currently offline.