Help and Support

Charge to Mobile

Charge to Mobile

Charge to Mobile is a way to buy digital content with your mobile. Everything from apps, games, music and videos to films and ebooks. It's fast, easy and safe. If you're on Pay Monthly the cost goes on your monthly bill, while if you're a Pay & Go user, the costs comes out of your mobile credit. The amount you can spend depends on how long you've been a customer, how much you normally spend and if you pay your bill on time. If you're on Pay & Go, you can spend up to the limit of your credit.

As a service, it's free to use, you only pay for what you buy from the seller, although you may have to pay to download the things you buy. For example if you buy some music and want to save it on your phone, and you're not on wifi, you'll use some of your data allowance.

If you're a Pay & Go or Pay Monthly customer, you already have Charge to Mobile so you don't have to do anything. If you're a business customer, Charge to Mobile isn't available to you yet. But you might still be able to pay by text - check with the seller. Although Charge to Mobile is only available to UK customers, you can still use it while you're in another country. The only thing we might charge extra for is data used while browsing and downloading. Check out our guide before you travel.

There are two ways to use Charge to Mobile:

On mobile phone

  • Choose what you want to buy. You'll get a payment screen describing what you're buying.
  • Confirm what you want.
  • Check the verification page.

Or on a laptop or tablet (or if you're using wifi on your mobile)

  • Choose what you want to buy. You'll get a payment screen describing what you're buying.
  • Type in your mobile number. The seller will send a security pin to your mobile phone. Type that in.
  • Check the verification page. That's it.

Not all mobile phones are set up in the same way, so you may need to type in a pin sent to you in a free text, like you do with a laptop or tablet.


We only work with sellers we trust. We check every service we use to make sure it meets industry standards. However, your purchases are subject to each individual retailer's terms and conditions.

We'll only share your number with our partners so we can process your payment. And they'll only share it with approved sellers if they get your permission - to send you promotional offers, for example. Or, if they need to send things you've bought straight to your phone.

We won't share your details either. No other details are ever provided to partners and if something goes wrong, we'll be there. We'll always make sure you get your money back if you're a victim of fraud.

Was this information helpful? Yes | No

Thank you for sending your feedback.

Topics from O2 Community

Can't find what you're looking for?

Give us a moment

We're just checking to see if there's an available agent.

Live Chat - Busy

All our agents are currently busy, please try again later.

Live Chat - Offline

The service is currently offline.