- What is Data Rollover?
Data Rollover is a benefit included with some of our tariffs. We’ll automatically roll over any data at the end of your billing period if you haven’t used it yet, so you can use that up first before your monthly data allowance starts next month. It gives you more time to use your data, so you can keep what you’ve already paid for.
- How long will the data roll over for?
Your data will roll over for one month only. Any unused rolled over data will expire if not used at the end of the month it rolls into. If you have not touched your data allowance for that month, then that will roll over into the following month.
- Can I roll over data on any tariff?
Data Rollover is available on selected tariffs bought after 10 September 2020, with a core data allowance from 6GB to 100GB. This excludes the 2GB triple data and 3GB double data tariffs.
The eligible tariffs are:
- Business Essentials
- Small Business (device and sim only)
- Business Tariffs
- Business Mobile Broadband Sim Only
- Business Essentials Data Only
- Small Business Data Only tariffs.
Data Rollover is also available on all our UK shared data bundles.
- How do I get the Data Rollover?
You can get Data Rollover by buying or upgrading onto an eligible tariff or shared data bundle. If you’re buying over the phone, the advisor will tell you if you have Data Rollover included in your tariff. If you’re buying online, it will be listed on all eligible tariffs.
Take a look at our shop to see our sims, phones and tablets that come with Data Rollover.
- Will it roll over automatically or do I need to redeem the rolled over data?
Tariffs or data bundles that have Data Rollover included will automatically rollover any unused data at the end of the billing period, ready for you to use the next billing period. You don’t need to do anything to roll the data over into the next billing period.
- When can I use my rolled over data?
Your data will automatically be rolled over to your next billing period, and it’ll be used before your data allowance for the new billing period starts. You can use it for any of the activities you’d usually use data for like checking emails, online browsing, business apps or watching videos.
- Do I get Data Rollover on a promotional tariff?
Any eligible tariff that is also a promotional tariff with a core data allowance from 6GB up to 100GB will include Data Rollover. For example, if you have purchased a 6GB data Small Business simo tariff that includes double data (bringing the data total to 12GB) after 10 September 2020, you will have purchased an eligible promotional tariff that includes Data Rollover.
However, the 2GB triple data tariff (which has a total of 6GB data) and the 3GB double data tariff (which has a total of 6GB data) do not include Data Rollover.
If your tariff includes Data Rollover it will be clearly listed when you choose it. You can also check by signing in to My O2 Business or by viewing your bill.
- If I change my tariff, will I still get Data Rollover?
If you move to a tariff with Data Rollover, you will not roll over any data from your old tariff to your new one. Your data allowance will reset to the amount of the tariff you change to. However, any future unused data will rollover into the following billing period.
If you change your tariff to a tariff that is not eligible for Data Rollover, you will no longer roll over data.
- If I upgrade, will I still get Data Rollover?
If you upgrade to a tariff with Data Rollover, you will not roll over any unused data from before the upgrade. However, any future unused data will roll over into the following billing period.
If you upgrade your tariff to a tariff that is not eligible for Data Rollover, you will not roll over any data.
- If I cancel my contract, do I still get Data Rollover?
If you cancel your contract, you will benefit from the Data Rollover until you are disconnected. Once your contract has ended and you are disconnected, you will not be able to access any data, even if you have some left over.
- I’ve missed a payment, will I still get Data Rollover?
If you only miss one payment, your tariff will not be impacted and you will continue to still have Data Rollover. However, if you continue to miss payments, your account may be barred. You won’t be able to use rolled over data and you may not be able to accrue data.
Contact us to discuss your options if you have missed a payment.
- How do I know if I have a Data Rollover tariff?
You can check by signing in to My O2 Business or by checking on your bill.
- How do I find out how much data I have rolled over?
You can work out how much data you have rolled over by logging in to My O2 Business and looking at your used and remaining data amounts.
You should add the total used and remaining amounts together and subtract your monthly data allowance. The remaining amount is how much you have rolled over.
The used and remaining amounts can be found by hovering over the dial. The allowance you have for that month can be found below the dial, and the amount of data in your tariff can be found in My O2 Business by going to the ‘Your Account’ section, ‘Manage Contract’ and ‘Tariffs and Bolt Ons’.
If you’re not sure how much data you’ve rolled over, you can contact us. We can tell you how much you’ve rolled over, what your allowance is and how much you’ve used this billing period.
- Will notifications for when I have used 80% and 100% of my data take into consideration the data rolled over?
Yes, notifications sent when you have used 80% or 100% of your data allowance include both the data rolled over and your monthly allowance.
- If I purchase a snacking data Bolt On, will this roll over too?
Our snacking data Bolt Ons do not include Data Rollover, so these will expire at the end of the billing cycle they are purchased in. Find out more about the data bolt ons available.
- How will my Spend Cap work with Data Rollover?
Your Spend Cap will work in the same way, whether you have Data Rollover or not. If you have Data Rollover, you’ll use your rolled over data first, then you’ll use your data allowance for that month. If you use both of these up, and you don’t have a snacking data Bolt On, then any chargeable usage outside your monthly allowance will count towards your Spend Cap.
Once you’ve reached your Spend Cap limit, any further chargeable out-of-bundle usage will be not possible. You’ll still be able to make calls to O2 customer service and emergency services from your O2 mobile.
Find out more about Spend Cap and how it will work here